Love yourself unconditionally

I don’t know if it’s just me, but it seems like the world is changing.   More and more, I hear about people shedding processed lifestyles, and trying to get back to more natural, authentic ways of living.  At first I thought it was just me.  I’m hearing about people switching to organic foods, organic creams and homemade butters for hair and skin; natural toothpastes and deodorants, drinking well water without fluoride and additives; etc, etc.  Something is happening, not sure what, but something big is happening.

In 2011, for a while after I got married, I battled a little with my weight.  At 5’10”, I’d always been used to being very thin; however, around the time I got married I easily put on almost 30 pounds.  I didn’t know what was going on, couldn’t figure it out.  People kept telling me that it was “marital bliss” weight.  I think it was emotional baggage trying to surface and telling me to finally deal with it.

I exercised, tried to curb my eating, but the weight seemed to be stubborn.  I didn’t know why it wouldn’t leave.  

2012 was a pivotal year for me.  To date, probably the hardest and most insightful year of my life.  I decided to take a bit of a breather from society, school, everything.  I became a bit overwhelmed with all the changes happening both in my personal life and career-wise, and I found it difficult emotionally to process.  But like I said, I believe something spiritually is happening in the world that we may collectively may not yet understand.  I believe I had to separate myself for a bit to start digging into unresolved issues that I had.  I started a renewed hair journey, where I started taking better care of my natural hair; I started eating only organic foods; I started to make my own hair and skin creams; I vastly reduced my alcohol consumption; I started becoming more in touch with myself and with nature, going on walks, growing and befriending plants (lol), etc.  Still don’t know what inspired all of these changes.  I know the people who know me best probably think I’m a little nuts, but I’m telling you, it’s one of the best things I’ve done for myself thus far.

After I made all those changes, the weight just came off.  Almost miraculously.  And now, no matter what I eat, it seems to stay off.  I believe in a way, weight gain and difficulties with weight loss are tied to emotional baggage.  As you release the baggage, you may be surprised how easily the weight begins to come off.  Spiritually speaking, I know I have a long way to go, but my first goal was to begin to love myself unconditionally.  I’m still a work in progress, but I do believe that beginning to love myself unconditionally, physically and emotionally, has served as a huge wakeup call for me.

There’s something happening spiritually in the world people.  Open your eyes to the signs, and believe that they are there, and you’ll start to see them.  And take care of yourself.  Love yourself.  You only have one body, and it loves you when you love it.

Leave a Reply

